Improve your relationships

If your life seems to be full of problems and problematic people, if your life seems to be full of harshness and unkindness then the time for reflection is upon you. The time has come that you sit down and review yourself, your life and the people in it.

Sometimes we can’t see what’s right in front of us simply because we are too close to it. Step back, sit down and open your eyes, try to see the world from a calm and un chaotic perspective, and try to see it from the eyes of your problem sources. If people are rude to you, perhaps you should review your behaviour towards them. Are you rude also? Or perhaps you aren’t directly rude but are stand-offish in posture and tone. Maybe you never even realised. One of my current missions is to stop saying and thinking mean things about other people. It’s not nice to them, and it’s not nice for you either. I find that being mean about others makes me feel more negative about myself. I pride myself on my ability to emapthise and connect with people, on my kindness and warmth so finding myself doing the opposite effects my self-respect. Likewise, people don’t often have much respect for people who come off as unkind.

I’ve met a lot of people in my life who have been cruel out of defence. When they felt as if someone might be judging them, they immediately said something unkind to them. It’s unfortunate, really, because after doing it for awhile people generally do make judgements about your character that reflect negatively on you. If people are rude to you and you’d like it to stop, try being nice. Try genuinely being kind to them and thinking of them in terms of their positive attributes, and if it doesn’t change anything, just try asking them about it and trying to understand their feelings. Some relationships can’t be mended – both people have to be on board and sometimes the hurt is too deep – but it’s worth a go. Improving the relationships in your life will make both of you happier and more at ease. Sometimes though, you meet someone who drains you of your spirit and energy and has no interest in improving things, these are the people that I’ve found should just be cut out of your lift altogether. Perhaps that sounds mean but it has served me well to cut out people who stress and drain me and I think it would help you too.

Sometimes we just have to get rid of things we can’t change. Be it a job, a house or a relationship improving or removing the stresses of your life will benefit not only you, but everyone you should happen to interact with on a daily basis. Improve or remove, a happier you is a happier world.

Leave a comment