Excuses – We Have to Stop Making Them

Sometimes in life we forget who we are, what we dream, and what we are capable of. Sometimes we find ourselves settling into the norm. Personally, I’ve never been much of a fan of the ‘norm’, while it has some things right it also has some things I find to be a bit bogus. I think the norm lost sight of a few things quite some times ago.

My way of standing outside the norm lies in my dreams to make a positive difference in the world, and I swear to you I will make it happen. Volunteering in Vietnam was the best experience of my life so far and there is no way I’m stopping there. Just yesterday I was looking at the posibility of going volunteering overseas right now, before university begins again, but I thought to myself “I don’t have enough time between now and then, its too late to volunteer for the summer now.”

Then I saw this wonderful post from a man I have much respect for.

Day (355) – They Ain’t Givin It.

It reminded me that there really are no rules, there are no real reasons why I cannot do something, and if I want to do something, I should go and make it happen. We have to just stop making excuses for ourselves. Sometimes I lack a bit of follow-through, but things like this remind me exactly what I am capable of, and I am thankful for that.

Leave a comment